Racism

Eric Holder, attorney general, recently said this:

“Though this nation has proudly thought of itself as an ethnic melting pot, in things racial, we have always been and we — I believe continue to be in too many ways essentially a nation of cowards…certain subjects are off-limits and that to explore them risks at best embarrassment and at worst the questioning of one’s character.”

He’s caught a lot of crap for this, but I’m giving him kudos–that he may not want.

What he didn’t point out is that where there are cowards there are also bullies.

He went on to say:

“As a nation we have done a pretty good job in melding the races in the workplace. We work with one another, lunch together and, when the event is at the workplace during work hours or shortly thereafter, we socialize with one another fairly well, irrespective of race. And yet even this interaction operates within certain limitations. We know, by “American instinct” and by learned behavior, that certain subjects are off limits and that to explore them risks, at best embarrassment, and, at worst, the questioning of one’s character. And outside the workplace the situation is even more bleak in that there is almost no significant interaction between us. On Saturdays and Sundays America in the year 2009 does not, in some ways, differ significantly from the country that existed some fifty years ago. This is truly sad.”

He’s right about this too. I don’t have any black friends that I socialize with outside of work. 

Because  blacks are TMW.

TMW is an acronym meaning Too Much Work. It usually is applied to high maintenance women.

Get ready to question my character.

I’m sick and tired of black people, just like I’m sick and tired of high maintenance women and everyone else who gets up in the morning and flips their entitlement/oppression coin to decide whether today is a day to make demands or act aggrieved.

(I’d say here that I’m generalizing and this doesn’t apply to everyone, except I’m sick and tired of qualifying everything I say to avoid giving offense to stupid people who are in the taking offense business.  I’m taking on Eric Holder’s challenge. Read this intelligently or go fuck yourself.)

I don’t care about racism and I don’t care if you think I should care.  Like I don’t care about spina bifida. Yeah, I get it, spina bifida is horrible, racism is horrible, and I think anyone who buttonholes me at a party and tells my I should care should just shut up and enjoy the party.

I’ve never done anything to trip up a black person for being black. I’ve done lots of little things to help black people that I wouldn’t have done if the person had been white. You can call that white guilt if you want, except I didn’t do it out of guilt, but empathy. I was being nice, not making reparations, not expunging my sins, and not making a big deal out of it. I don’t care if you think I have some kind of ancestral advantage from being white. Even if true, still not my fault. Get off my back if you want to get invited to my barbecue.

I don’t feel bad that I don’t have black friends. Black people who don’t have white friends should feel bad. Way to go, cranky pants.  There are lots of people out here who don’t care about race, and are just tired of being bitched at by cranky people. It’s not about color, it’s about cranky.

Leave a Reply

