Choose: Gays marry or we keep the First Amendment

It’s been at least a couple of weeks since I’ve been so pissed off about another assault on fundamental human rights than I am about the Chick-Fil-A thing. Three douchebag blue state mayors (Boston, San Francisco, Chicago) have said they’d use their political power to prevent this fast food chain from doing business in their cities. Oh, and one Chicago alderman, with Chick-Fil-A’s application in front of him, said he was going to deny it purely because the owner opposes gay marriage.

Gay marriage is on the Washington state ballot this fall. I am going to vote against it even though I’m in favor of gay marriage in principle.

What these mayors have done is not only unconscionable, it’s illegal. I hope civil rights lawsuits are filed against each of them. I doubt those lawsuits will go anywhere. But I hope they’re filed.

Gays have about 3 months to convince me they’re not just another evil special interest group trying to impose their will on me. That they’re not going to try to force religious denominations that oppose gay marriage to marry gays. That they’re not going to file lawsuits against wedding photographers who don’t want to take jobs to record gay marriages (that’s already happened).

Freedom of religion and freedom of speech are far more important to me than gay marriage. If gays make me choose, they lose.

UPDATE 2016: I actually voted for the gay marriage proposition in Washington, and it passed.The wording promised no shenanigans, but that was a lie. Gay people acted horribly, as I knew they would, but I had to do the right thing.

I don’t regret my vote, but I despise all gay people who have supported forcing Christian bakers and photographers to service their weddings. I’ve lost several gay friends, and I hope I never find them again. Fuck off, you fascist fags.

I had to vote my conscience and support marriage equality even though I knew most gay people are fucking asshole Democrats who ruin everything. I will defend the rights of gay people to my dying day, even though most gay people are self-serving cunts who care nothing about real human rights.

Leave a Reply

