Rigourous honesty, RIP

When I was a little Mormon kid, multiple apocryphal stories were told about kids who went to buy groceries for their moms and got an extra nickel back in change they didn’t deserve and who lugged those groceries 4.5 miles back through blizzards to their houses 5.0 miles away before realizing they had a nickel more than they deserved, and went back to the storekeeper and gave him back his nickel. Whether they died before doing the 19 mile run for the nickel, my Sunday School teachers were silent.

Recently I got six of a $20 retail thing when I ordered one. I looked it up, thinking I’d fucked up. Nope, I ordered one, got charged for one. But I have six.

I sighed. I didn’t want six. It will take an hour of my time online to deal with this if I’m lucky. I’ll have to ship stuff back, taking another hour or more of my time packaging stuff and driving down to the UPS drop. And then I found peace when I decided, your fuckup is not worth my time.

It’s not a moral issue, it’s a you won’t pay me enough to make it worth my time to fix your mistake issue.

3 Responses to Rigourous honesty, RIP

  1. chrishanger says:

    I know exactly how you feel.

    Chris

    Sent from my iPad

  2. You should still send them back. It’s not about how much money your time is worth. It is about how much worth you put in integrity.

    • Scipio says:

      Having been raised Mormon, I have been exposed to the apocryphal stories about little Mormon boys who got an extra nickel in change and didn’t notice it till after walking 4 miles home in the snow, and then turned right around, 300 feet from their front door to trudge back and right the wrong. Losing two toes to frostbite by going for the gold medal in the Integrity Olympics, in the more lurid tellings.

      I’m not buying that this is a big integrity thing. It’s a prosperity thing. If I don’t notice at the counter that the clerk gave me $2 for a $10 purchase and I gave her a $20, I don’t go back and argue with her. If it’s going to cost me $50 to correct a $20 mistake that someone else made in my favor, I’m not inclined to do it. If I can correct the mistake without more cost to me than benefit to them, I’ll still do it. But if it’s no big deal, it’s no big deal. If they are constantly sending out cases instead of singles to people who order, I’m sure somebody else who’s got more frontier morality left than do I will tell them. I do too much business with too many people to correct every mistake. I get screwed all the time in minor ways and shrug. Typically, I bitch only on principle (meaning it’s about you pissed me off, not a few bucks) and more and more I don’t even do that.

      Nobody’s getting hurt here (we’re giving away the few extras to people who might never have known about this product) and we’re probably doing a better job marketing them than they are themselves. I’m not saying this as justification. Because despite justifying myself in this post, I wasn’t really. I was just noticing myself and commenting on it. I’m saying, the method of modern commerce makes acting like this a minor foul, not a flagrant foul.

Leave a Reply

