Seriously, black people, knock it off

I’m watching the local news tonight because I’m testing all the technical fixes I made several days ago to make my DVR more reliable with over-the-air channels, and I sees this story as the lede on KIRO 7, the Seattle CBS affiliate  (I’ll summarize):

Merchants in the Westlake Park shopping area are about up to here with all the crime starting to happen lately. It’s screwing with their profits.

If you don’t live in Seattle, the Westlake shopping area is a few blocks away from Pike’s Market, that market being the most famous Seattle landmark except for the Space Needle. Westlake Park is kind of upscale–Nordstrom’s upscale, not Rodeo Drive. The monorail between Seattle Center and downtown lets off in the Westlake mall. There’s a really nice public square and lots of nice stores around the mall. Even the street musicians are pretty good. Yuppie bohemian — what Seattle wants to look like to everyone else.

I’ve lived in Seattle a long time. Westlake mall is just another mall as far as I can tell. But it’s all clean, bright and inviting. Chicks dig it. If there’s anyplace in America to feel safe, it’s this block.

Evidently, not so much safety lately.

To set context, Seattle is a notoriously low-crime city. It’s safer to walk around after midnight in Seattle than in Nashville. But crime has been upticking steadily the last several years. Enough to make me and the missus start getting trained with guns, and getting our CPLs and carrying pepper spray and knives. And other stuff.

Back to KIRO news: as lazy local news organizations do these days, their story was mostly told by cell phone video caught by bystanders. They had 2 videos:

* a black man with a baseball bat smashing out all the windows of all the parked cars in this nice district

* 3 black girls just beating the living shit out of some white girl in the middle of the nice public square with the See’s candy store in the background

I’m not going to make arguments here. But we who live in this area all know it, even the blocky Capitol Hill lesbians and the skinny gay tech nerds who infest Alki Point: Black people are gold medaling in the Seattle Crime Olympics.

I inspect my wife like Colonel von Trapp inspected his children in The Sound of Music before my wife goes into downtown Seattle at night (her job requires it frequently). Pepper spray on keychain? check! and so on. We’ve had several talks, with her rolling her eyes, about how to deploy her knife if surprised and physically attacked to most quickly reduce the blood pressure of her attacker. I’m not saying I’m Rambo. I’m saying I’m really pissed off that I have to even learn about these things. I much prefer typing to training.

Here’s another thing I tell my wife. A lot of people (most of them white) will say what I’m about to say is racist. They’ll say it’s profiling, which is correct. Here’s my advice for cute white girls, and most everyone else:

Have nothing to do with young black people you don’t know. Including groups of black girls.

Always assume that all young black men are predators until proven otherwise. And that all one-sex-only groups of young black people are ticking timebomb violence.

If a young black man asks you for directions or anything else, walk past him and ignore him. Every time. Be rude. The difference between being a victim and not is usually being rude enough to make them seek weaker prey.  If a young black man continues to reduce distance between you after you ignore him, pepper spray him. Do not hesitate. Predators win because prey hesitate.

If a group of black girls eyeballs you, much less verbally confronts you, just pepper spray and run away.

BTW, everybody, pepper spraying someone at random is, in most states, a misdemeanor. Regardless, check out the law in your area. If you feel threatened, pepper spray is minimal self-defense. You won’t kill anyone with it. Do it when in doubt.

Young black men, by the most generous estimates, commit violent crimes at an order of magnitude more than anyone else.  This kind of statistic doesn’t happen anywhere else in social studies. This isn’t “more likely to get heart disease” about cheese.  Young black men are a Menace II Society.

Young black men are 10 to 20 times more likely to be violent and criminal than anyone else in America. Unless you’re stupid and willing to sacrifice people you love on the PC altar, you should have nothing to do with young black people you don’t know. You should always take a defensive posture if you suddenly encounter them.

Doesn’t matter if you’re black or white. Do not let young black man herd you or get close to you. Be afraid, be very afraid of young black men.

 

2 Responses to Seriously, black people, knock it off

  1. Llama John says:

    I’m glad you guys are talking about self defense. You might want to read this blog post (your SO might not want to) and think about mindset.

    http://limatunesrangediary.blogspot.com/2013/08/fight-like-girl-and-other-lessons-from.html

    I’m thinking I need more training on unarmed sefl defense and pepper spray.

    • Scipio says:

      This is what jumped out at me:

      I asked her if at any time she felt that compliance was the better option.

      Stupid liberals always say, don’t resist. All they want is your money. One of these days, I will unpack that idiotic belief…no, wait, I have to do it right now because it just dawned on me why they say that. And it probably just dawned on you too. So I’ll skip forward.

      Always resist violence. Always seek to flee the threat of violence. Never cower. If you cooperate, do it consciously. That brief moment when confronted by an asshole where he can see you thinking about what to do might make the difference. Yeah, it might get you killed. Or it might make him think about taking the money and running.

      I think the bottom line is you have to have decided in advance or you’re screwed because you’re surprised. When surprised do what you already decided to do, don’t try to think it through.

      This is a great article, and I actually did send it to my SO.

Leave a Reply

