A thing that’s better about getting older

When I was young, if I found out that somebody didn’t like me, I’d immediately go, Why? What did I do? What should I change?

Nowadays, my default, and I didn’t come to this philosophically but only actuarily,

OK, then, you not liking me is plenty reason why I don’t like you.

I don’t care to investigate why some person who isn’t important to me doesn’t like me.

If my boss doesn’t like me, well, that’s important information, and on a practical level I should figure out why and do something about it, but on an emotional level, it makes me like him less. And respect him less.

If a friend stops liking me, that is actually interesting to me, if it puzzles me. I will try to work it out.

But sometimes, it doesn’t puzzle me. Sometimes, you can see it coming.

I have (had) a friend who is a complete screwup. He’s been the butt of jokes from most of his friends for about 20 years now, because we’ve been all trying to tell him to knock it off without getting too serious. That’s a guy thing.

Perhaps we should have had an intervention. Maybe that would have worked if he had one single problem, like heroin addiction. But his addiction is when given any range of decisions, he’ll just ALWAYS choose the stupidest, easiest one. Every single one of my other friends reading this will know exactly who I am talking about.

By the way, if you’re a guy, and most of the time when you talk to your guy friends, the conversation turns to your problems, you are screwing up big time.

So the other night, he suddenly pops up on my social media with a snotty attitude about something that has nothing to do with him.

He’s obviously pissed at me, and I can see why. Over the last year, I’ve stopped joking with him and started getting serious. Like, seriously, Jane, (I’m going to call him Jane) you’re going for Insurance Amway now? (if everyone didn’t know who I’m talking about before, now they do.)

If you don’t like me, take it from me, I probably no longer like you.

Leave a Reply

