Yeah, that was funny, funny once . . .

“Yeah, that was funny once…” was the way me and my brothers and our compadres told each other to knock it off with repeating a joke that had become tiresome, from repetition. Kids will ride any verbal horse till it dies or their friends shoot it out from under them.

Every week, for how many months now? a lot of months, Saturday Night Live has been opening their show by broadly lampooning the Trump administration.  It’s relentless. Every damn week, same thing. Relentless isn’t funny. It’s starting to remind me of the episode of Game of Thrones where Joffrey got poisoned just after making the dwarves all dress up and lampoon his enemies.

Now that Trump is less and less lampoonable as the issues get more and more serious, they’re after his hapless press secretary Sean Spicer.

Instead of Alec Baldwin thinking that making duck lips and bobbing his head like a chicken pecking grain is a spot-on imitation of Trump, we have Melissa McCarthy thinking that getting a really butch dyed haircut and using an angry mean monotone yell is a good imitation of Sean Spicer.

This week, to express reverence for Easter, McCarthy came out in a bunny suit and took the head off to show everyone her HI-larious Spicer coif. This was because they had a picture of Spicer dressing up as a bunny a decade or so ago at a White House easter egg hunt.  This was not played on SNL as a cute, aww, look at a dad doing something cool for the kids, but to ridicule him.

Here’s the transcript of what I saw of the Melissa McCarthy as Spicer act this morning on CBS News:

“You all got your wish this week didn’t you? Spicey finally made a mistake. As we all know, President Trump recently bombed Syria while eating the most beautiful piece of chocolate cake America has ever laid eyes on. That’s a fact!

“It would be really great if the nitpickers would try to see the big picture and didn’t solely focus on every little lie or slur I say. That would be nice!”

After that clip, Gayle King, faux-acting like laughing at this is a guilty pleasure, said “But it’s so entertaining!”

No it’s not.

What if I dressed up like Pocahontas and pretended to be Elizabeth Warren? It takes 2 minutes for anybody do a similarly “funny” lampooning of Fauxcahontas:

“Now everybody shut up because I’m about to apologize. Yeah, you thought it could never happen to me, Liawatha! You thought I was pure Native American Nobility, which I am, partly.  A bit. Maybe. Fight fiercely, Harvard! As we all know that little Bitch McConnell made me sit down and shut up after I’d violated Senate rules of decorum. Decorum, my Cherokee ass! Who needs stupid shit like decorum? Republican turkey necks who are afraid of strong, nasty, riesty, yeasty beastie women like ME! That’s who needs decorum!

“So, I’m really truly sorry  . . . that you’re a pasty little white bitch, Mitch!  I got your decorum right here mostly festering under my squaw thong!”

I wrote that literally as fast as I typed it, and it’s nothing but a pastiche of right-wing insults and memes and what I’ve been doing nearly unconsciously to insult people since 4th grade.  And, it may be a little more raucous, because I didn’t have to pass it by NBC censors, but it’s pretty much the same damn thing that SNL did.

It’s not that funny, just cheap, fast, easy and ugly, like Elizabeth Warren.

When I was in grade school, we called saying stuff like this “cut fights.” It wasn’t limited to “Your mama so . . .” but it was the white version. Melissa McCarthy and Alec Baldwin would have been worthy opponents in a cut fight. I’m pretty sure I’d have whipped Alec’s ass and Melissa would have whipped mine.

Now, I’m about to go Godwin.

In the mid-late 1930’s in Germany, Hitler brought all art, movies and such under centralized control. The major museums were converted to displaying only Nazi-approved art. There was one museum kept open as a deliberate display of shitty (not-Nazi) art.  So people could go there and then immediately with the rest of their ticket to any of the many Nazi galleries, and ponder how much better Nazism had made art.

Unfortunately, the Nazi museums couldn’t get people using the other half of their tickets,  and the anti-Nazi museum had lines like people were trying to buy Jonas Brothers tickets.

I’m not going to draw the conclusions for you. If I have to, yo mama so stupid she didn’t abort you!

Leave a Reply

